According to the legend, in the year 840 the Virgin Mary would have appeared to a shepherd. However, it was not until the year 1102 that this sanctuary was mentioned in the charter of the Archbishop of Narbonne.
In 1120 after the return of the first crusade in the Holy Land the name of Nazareth is attributed to him. The Benedictine monks who founded the abbey of Saint-Agnan at the beginning of the XNUMXth century were certainly no strangers to the construction of the first chapel.
In 1789 during the Revolution, it then became a national property, was closed to worship. It was not until the beginning of the XNUMXth century that it again became the sanctuary we know today.
A 9 km walking path starting from Saint-Chinian will allow you to discover this remarkable site.
The Friends of Our Lady of Nazareth association offers guided tours by appointment. It also provides, on request, a room adjoining the chapel for a picnic in the event of bad weather.